About Us

The mission of the FMHS Postdoctoral Society is to promote the interests of Postdoctoral researchers in the Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences, University of Auckland, and create opportunities for their networking, collaboration, and professional development. Further to this, we aim to provide a voice for FMHS early- and mid-career researchers and facilitate their work in the Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences and the wider University. We welcome collaborations with Fellows and Associations of other Universities to further our mutual goals.

Membership of the society is assumed for all  Research Fellows and Senior Research Fellows working within, or affiliated to, the Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences (FMHS) at the University of Auckland; however, any member of staff wishing to opt out may do so at any time. Membership of the Committee is open to all members who attend Committee meetings and show an active interest in the running of the society.

If this sounds like you, you can get in touch with us at one of our regular Events, and find our contact info using the University Directory.

Haruna Suzuki-Kerr

Haruna is a postdoctoral research fellow in the Department of Physiology and is part of the Auditory and Ves Translational Neuroscience Cluster. Haruna completed her PhD at the University of Auckland and worked in Japan as a research fellow. Following a career break, rejoined the University in 2018. She currently spends hours looking down the microscope to study the molecular pathology of hearing loss in the auditory system. She also loves baking and more recently has been teaching her sons baking, while she practices coffee making. 

Benjamin Dickson

Ben is a Research Fellow in the Auckland Cancer Society Research Centre. He completed his PhD in the School of Chemistry, University of Auckland followed by a brief stint recycling paper before landing his current role in the medicinal chemistry team. Ben’s work focuses on the design, synthesis, and development of novel targeted cancer drugs as part of multi-disciplinary teams in the ACSRC. away from work, he tries hard to be a good dad to three daughters while scraping out time to watch hockey and ride bicycles up and down hills.

Pratik Thakkar

Erika Freemantle

Rashi Karunasinghe